These Books Are Amazing And You Should Read Them

hey so these books are amazing

and before i review them i want you to know that…

Winger- Andrew Smith

i actually prefer the cartoon cover. it’s much cooler

this book just hooks you in…

WARNING: THIS BOOK IS SO FUNNY BUT DO NOT BE FOOLED THE ENDING IS A GIANT SLAP IN THE FACE.

What’s it about?

Ryan Dean West is a 14yr old boy who goes to boarding school in the US. he is way too clever for his age and thus is ahead of most people his age…so yeah that’s one reason why he doesn’t fit in. also he is pretty skinny yet he happens to play rugby. this book is not just about school, friends, girls but also about rugby. he loves doodling and his comics are really cool. so not only does he have to share a dorm with one of the scariest dudes on campus…so he is constantly living in fear for his life (or getting beat up) while he is also in love with his best friend. so yeah it’s basically a book about school, life, friends, trying to fit in and the stuff that happens. a lot of stuff happens. some good..some funny…and a lot of surprises.

Did i like it?

i actually had no idea what to expect when i started this book. but from the first page i was hooked and laughing. the diarrhea spell is one of the funniest things…and joey is my fave character he is just the nicest and most wonderful person. Ryan Dean West kind of reminds me of Adrian Mole of the 21st century but also a more likeable boy. sure he thinks about girls and sex a lot and can be quite sexist but he does try his best to mend his ways…though man does his ego often get in the way. but he tries to be a better person. oh yes I LOVE THIS BOOK IT IS HILARIOUS I WAS LAUGHING OUT LOUD A LOT AND I DIDN’T WANT TO FINISH IT BUT I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS BUT THEN I WISH I HADN’T FINISHED IT. the ending is just…heartbreaking. i kind of had a feeling something like that would happen but it is so so horrendous. it’s really eye opening the challenges some people face.

oh and there WILL be a sequel…which i will hopefully read.

also i tweeted Andrew Smith and he replied!!! =D

you can follow him @marburyjack

i look forward to reading his latest book Grasshopper Jungle which sounds incredibly strange.

Jellicoe Road aka On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

one of my favourite books

my friend Lisa is obsessed with this author and i have heard of this book and heard great things but i couldn’t find it anywhere. i don’t think it’s published in the UK?! or if it is, it’s just very difficult to find. i think you can get it on kindle but i prefer paperback. anyways so i ordered it of the Book Depository this summer because i thought it was time i finally read this book and see what is so great about it.

i was not disappointed.

What’s it about?

IT IS SET IN AUSTRALIA WHICH IS COOL. Taylor is the leader of her boarders at the Jellicoe School. they have this thing called territory wars with the cadets and townies. idk it’s kind of hard to describe. it’s about this girl Taylor and her trying to piece together the puzzle that is her life, her past and her mum. also Hannah who looks after her has disappeared and she wants to know why…and how Hannah’s story ties in with her mum and the dreams she has. it’s so confusing at first but then you get into it and you’re liek woah IT ALL MAKES SENSE NOW. also there is Jonah and Raffy and all the other wonderful characters and it’s so emotional and wonderful and is about friendship and family and trusting people and just read it.

Did I Like it?

yes. Jonah Griggs is wonderful. Taylor is annoying at first but i can see why but she proves herself and i like her. i love her friends and Ben omg and i love the characters and the 2 stories merging together to complete the puzzle and how everything eventually makes sense and it’s like OMG THIS IS AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTBREAKING AND WHY I LOVE IT SO MUCH WOW. i just think you should read it. it may surprise you. i hope it does. it’s just a great story, well written and deals with a lot of issues. also it will break your heart.

Fave Quotes:

‘And if i could bottle the look on his face, I’d keep it by my bedside for the rest of my life.’

‘But grief makes a monster out of us sometimes . . . and sometimes you say and do things to the people you love that you can’t forgive yourself for.’
I look forward to reading her other books: Saving Francesca, Looking for Alibrandi, The Piper’s Son and The Lumatere Chronicles.

JUST SO YOU ARE PREPARED…WHEN YOU DO READ THESE BOOKS THEY WILL LEAVE YOU LIKE THIS:

 

THE PAIN KJDSHGHJDGDKFJHKDJGHDKJSN

basically

so yeah

for those book recs. I HOPE YOU ENJOY READING THEM AND DYING FROM FEELS.

in other wonderful book news

Lauren Oliver did a UK Book Tour and she wasn’t supposed to have a London date but then she did so i went to Hatchards PICCADILLY (THE OLDEST Bookstore in London…it was founded in 1797)

anyways LAUREN OLIVER IS JUST SO LOVELY

i think every author i have met has just been so wonderfully nice.

'To Juwi- Don't worry you are young. =) I'm so glad that you read and connected to BIF so strongly and that we got to meet- and your grief makes me cackle! hahaha (evil laugh)

‘To Juwi- Don’t worry you are young. =) I’m so glad that you read and connected to BIF so strongly and that we got to meet- and your grief makes me cackle! hahaha (evil laugh)

she signed my book and wrote a long message!!!

i was saying how i felt old whenever i go to meet authors coz everyone is between 12-19 and i’m 20 and so i’m like…oh well i don’t act it. =P

if you haven’t read Before I Fall you should. it’s one of my favourite books. i read it four years ago and it has stayed with me.

also i asked her about the movie and she said things should be happening soon what with different producers etc but it should be a movie sometime in the near future.

she is also really really pretty.

oh and her other books are the Delirium Trilogy (i read the first book and loved it but i haven’t read the other books) and her new book Panic which actually looks pretty good. i shall have to get that sometime.

oh and here is my mini book haul when i went to Waterstones Piccadilly.

My cat Neo and my mini book haul

My cat Neo and my mini book haul

Crown of Midnight– Sarah J Mass (i will be posting a blog about this series soon!)

Siege and Storm– Leigh Bardugo

Dreamland– Sarah Dessen

I FOUND DREAMLAND.

THAT IS THE ONLY SARAH DESSEN BOOK I HAVE NOT READ.

i love Sarah Dessen. i hope she comes to the UK one day so i can meet her.

Don’t forget to add me on goodreads

oh and i have an Instagram @juwibakes

till the next time

Happy Reading!

p.s Patrick Ness announced his new YA book title The Rest Of Us Just Live Here which is out sometime in 2015

so pretty

more collages here

Β PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

3 thoughts on “These Books Are Amazing And You Should Read Them

  1. Silvia says:

    Delirium is my favorite book (ignoring the fact that it is a trilogy because the other two aren’t that good) but I’ve never read Before I fall. I need to look for it.
    I’ve only met one author in my life Kyra Davis, I had never read her books but my cousin dragged me on a 3 hour ride just to see her. I’m glad she did, she was so lovely and her book was nice (not my favorite but i still enjoyed it).
    And you are young! If you feel old then I’m a grandmother haha
    I’m going to keep this books in mind but I have so many in my to read list that I don’t need to buy more for now.
    Oh and Neo is precious!

    Like

    • aww no problem thanks for reading my post and commenting amiga!!! haha yes more books to add to your list! meeting authors is so much fun. i’m lucky to live in London!!! =D if you liked Delirium then you might like Matched by Allie Condie…it’s very similair.

      Like

Leave a Reply

