South Africa Part 2/Home Sweet Home

hey guys

SO I AM FINALLY BACK IN LONDON (okay i’ve been back for a month now it’s taken me ages to blog this sigh I EVEN PROCRASTINATE THE THINGS I WANT TO DO WHAT IS MY LIFE?)

it feels great to be back. why?

REUNITED WITH MY KITTY MY FATTY NEO!!!

LOOK AT HIM AND HIS CUTE LITTLE KRGHFSJD

LOOK AT HIM AND HIS CUTE LITTLE KRGHFSJD

I JUST

I MISS HIM SO MUCH

I MISSED HIM SO MUCH

ANYWAYS

this blog post is about

ADVENTURES IN SOUTH AFRICA PART 2:

it’s been one crazy awesome summer

had an incredible summerย in south africa

Ramadan FLEW BY. seriously.

like one day it was the beginning of Ramadan and yays AND THEN IT WAS OVER. HOW????? it was probably one of the best Ramadans ever because (okay yes the fasts were short but still), i was with family and the whole Ramadan atmosphere and praying Taraweeh and reading Quran (sadly i only made it to the 15th parah so half way).

but it just just a really lovely Ramadan, Alhamdulilah. =)

and then…EID!!! WE HADN’T SPENT EID IN SA IN 12 YEARS SINCE WE MOVED!!!

so it was kind of a big deal. except my bro wasn’t with us coz he went for Ummrah with my grandparents. but ah well still had loads of fun.

Eid Outfit  blouse (Zara) maxi skirt (Jane Norman)

Eid Outfit
blouse (Zara) maxi skirt (Jane Norman)

SPARKLES!!!! urgh i love shiny things okay. i have to say i looked really quite nice on Eid WHICH IS POSSIBLY WHY I GOT NAZRED. also I WAS LITERALLY DRESSING UP FOR MYSELF COZ THERE WAS NO ONE TO IMPRESS. sigh. but yeah i got ACTUAL COMPLIMENTS AND I WAS LIKE

um thanks so much hgdsfdj,aks

OOHH OF COURSE I HAD TO BAKE FOR EID I MEAN DUH

I MADE CHEESECAKE

AND COOKIES AND CREAM CUPCAKES

AND BROWNIES WITH NUTELLA FROSTING

yummy

yummy

nom

nom

so Eid day IT WAS FREEZING WHICH WAS HORRIBLE BUT THE DAY ITSELF WAS JUST

SPARKLES AND LOVELINESS AND JUSTUYRGHKSJDNK

Eid Morning:

went to my uncle’s house (my mum’s brother) for breakfast

AND WHAT DID I FIND???????

MY COUSINS

GOT

A

ROOSTER

FOR EID

ROOSTER STRUTTING PROUDLY IN THE YARD FOR REALS OMG

ROOSTER STRUTTING PROUDLY IN THE YARD FOR REALS OMG

i was like

AND JUST LAUGHED EVERY TIME I SAW HIM

but my little cousins were over the moon with excitement trying to chase it AND OMG THE CAT’S REACTION WAS HILARIOUS. THE CAT WAS LIKE WHAT IS THIS THING AND THE ROOSTER WAS LIKE WHO ARE YOU LOOKING AT????! OH ME YES I AM A KING. lol

animals are hilarious.

so yeah breakfast was funny coz ROOSTER but also madness coz family and my little cousins got loads of presents because my SIX YEAR OLD COUSIN KEPT LIKE 3/4 OF HER FASTS WOWZA and my 10year old cousin kept all Masha’Allah. but even my 4yr old cousin got presents duh. so they were ECSTATIC COZ PRESENTS AND ROOSTER AND EID WOOP EVERYONE LOVES EID.

i mean we’re all sad Ramadan is over coz there’s something so special about that month but then EID IS A TIME OF HAPPINESS A TIME OF JOY.

EID WOOP FUN TIMES ROOSTER AND SOUTH AFRICA AND MADNESS AND JUST YAYNESS

then we went visiting some peeps. and the thing is over here my mum’s cousin USED TO LIVE HERE SO WE’D CELEBRATE EID WITH HER BUT THEN SHE HAD TO GO AND MOVE BACK TO SOUTH AFRICA BUT TO CAPE TOWN SO WE DIDN’T SEE HER. but we saw her parents and that was lovely AND OMG THE COMPLIMENTS PEOPLE GAVE ME I WAS LIKE

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU *BLUSHES* THANK YOU KHFGKJD *FLIPS HIJAB* THANK YOU

then we went back home to pray and stuff and then my father picked me up and i went to my uncle’s house (my father’s brother’s house)

and well

some people tho…

I WAS SO HAPPY TO SEE MY TWO LITTLE BROTHERS COZ I LOVE THEM SO MUCH SO THAT WAS COOL. i love annoying them. mwahahahaha evil older sister to them hehehe

but then

omg some people tho i can’t

like for reals. THERE WAS A GIRL WHO HAD THE SAME NAME AS ME. AND NICKNAME. LIKE

BITCH REALLY?

AND THEN SHE WAS LIKE OMG I LOVE YOUR ACCENT TALK MORE.

WTF

NO

urgh and just it was so hard to stay in control and not punch everyone because URGH PEOPLE…well majority of them WEREN’T EVEN MY FAMILY BUT MY UNCLE’S WIFE’S FAMILY. so like ew.

BUT THE FOOD WAS NICE.

EID IS ALL ABOUT EATING SO I WAS LIKE

LEAVE ME ALONE PEASANTS LET ME EAT MY FOOD IN PEACE

so i was with my cousin who urgh my gosh DRAMA QUEEN MUCH. like i love her but gosh really SHE ASKS FOR MY ADVICE AND THEN DOES THE OPPOSITE AND JUST OMG STOP LYING. is wear she’s like a compulsive liar.

urgh peasants everywhere

literally me the whole time i was there

ANYWAYS THEN FINALLY I WENT BACK HOME TO GET READY FOR THE EVENING

which was gonna be at my mum’s uncle’s house (one of my grandfather’s brother’s) and that part of the family was gonna be there

so yeah it was crazy

BUT FOOD.

YAYS

and THE KIDS

OMG I WAS SITTING ON THE KIDS TABLE LIKE A BOSS.

and then they finished eating so i was with the other peeps. and it was fine and the food was nice and i wasn’t so awkward coz i had ketchup so i was happy. but i really missed my mum’s Roast Dinner which she’d sometimes make fo Eid WITH YORKSHIRE PUDDING NOM. so every1 was like wtf is a yorkshire pudding? lol it’s not a dessert it’s a doughy thing and you put gravy on it and eat it with the potatoes and meat and just ygjerskdhj. yeah

ANYWAYS then after food. i went to play with the kids. literally.

we were playing SCHOOL OF ALL THINGS OMG I WAS MAKING WORKSHEETS LIKE JOIN THE DOTS AND STUFF FOR THE LITTLE ONES IT WAS SO FUNNY. and then my 10yr old cousin and other boy cousin we were making up a story by writing one line each. OMG IT WAS SO WEIRD AND…dirty…obviously because a 10 YEAR OLD BOY WAS INVOLVED. smh.

and the dessert omg so much dessert i was like

omg DESSERT. CAKE AND ICE CREAM AND BISCUITS AND JUST YUMMY STUFF

yeah so literally spent the whole day EATING FOOD AND BEING MERRY AND JUST HAVING A FABULISMO TIME APART FROM HAVING TO DEAL WITH CERTAIN PEASANTS BUT IT WAS A SMALL THING COMPARED TO THE REST OF THE DAY.

AND THEN I WENT TO MY FRIEND’S HOUSE BUT LITERALLY IT WAS LATE AND EVERY1 WAS TIRED. AND THE GUESTS ALL WENT (SO LITERALLY ZERO GUYS SAW ME LOOKING SO FABULOUS) and my friend got me a friendship mug and her lil sister got me some cool magnets describing my life . and then i was just chilling on the internet and yeah it was fun. oh and i finally told my mum i like white guys and my ‘type’ (has to read, be funny, love animals AND NOT ALLERGIC TO CATS…preferably Josh Hutcherson) also but like i’m not OMG WHITE GUY i’m not opposed to a non-white guy it’s just ew south african muslim boys NO THANK YOU. like ew.

RANT ALERT:(that is rude i know but seriously they probs never read unless it’s for school and they only care about sport or their looks or games or loser-ish stuff and just no…they are boring and i can’t see myself with any of them…YES THIS IS A MASSIVE GENERALISATION AND NO I DON’T KNOW MANY SOUTH AFRICAN BOYS PERSONALLY. i only know my bro and his friends and my friend’s brother and just nope they’re all pretty much the same. AND GOSH THEIR FAMILIES. HAHAAHHA I DO NOT WANNA DEAL WITH THAT.

anyways so at the end of the night

i was like

ALHAMDULILAH I AM SO GRATEFUL AND BLESSED FOR HAVING SUCH A SPECTACULAR DAY AND JUST WOW SO HAPPY AND FEELS AND ALHAMDULILAH AND JUST THKGFJHKDJF

anyways

then i spent the weekend with my drama queen cousin BUT I SWEAR SOMEONE PUT NAZR ON ME (EVIL EYE…AS IN LIKE WISHED ME BAD COZ I LOOKED SO GOOD ON EID MY MUM AND GRANDMA THINK LOL) IE SOMEONE’S JEALOUS OF ME OR WISHED ME HARM…this is real anyways…so I BET I KNOW WHO IT WAS. ๐Ÿ˜

so i was sick right after eid LIKE HORRIBLY SICK AND THEN I HAD TO DEAL WITH MY COUSIN TALKING ABOUT THIS LOSER GUY AND JUST SHUT UP NO YOU ARE BETTER THAN THAT but sadly she has like just…i can only pray for her seriously. but an unexpected turn of events led us to hr aunty’s flat (AT LEAST WE WERE BY THE BEACH AND I WAS WALKING IN THE SUN AND SHE WAS LIKE EW I HATE THE SUN IT MAKES ME DARK AND I’M LIKE BITCH YOU LIVE IN SOUTH AFRICA WHAT EVEN BE GRATEFUL FOR THE SUN)

so. I MET SOME AMAZING PEOPLE. like her aunty was so lovely and their children (who were like over 25) were so amazing. THAT FAMILY READS BOOKS AND TRAVELS AND I WAS TALKING ABOUT ANTHROPOLOGY AND HAVING INTELLECTUAL CONVERSATIONS AND THEY GAVE ME PROPER GREEN TEA FROM INDIA AND IT WAS JUST serendipitous.

also the guy was like 29 and no he wasn’t hot BUT HE WAS SO NICE LIKE WOW GREAT PERSONALITY BUT SADLY I AM NOT ATTRACTED TO YOU IN THAT WAY BUT DAMN I HOPE AND PRAY YOU FIND A WONDERFUL WIFE WHO DESERVES YOU.

and my cousin was being so rude on her phone and not interacting and I WAS TALKING SO MUCH (probs coz i have been DEPRIVED OF INTELLECTUAL CONVERSATION IN SOUTH AFRICA and i was sick so i can get really…EXTRA WEIRD AND CRAZY)

yeah then i spent the night talking to my cousin giving her advice and the next day she COMPLETELY IGNORED ME AND I WANTED TO SLAP HER.

okay moving on.

I SPENT MOST OF MY SUMMER BEING A KID. LITERALLY RELIVING MY CHILDHOOD.

playing with my cousins: i made a menu and we were playing restaurant and then we were skipping and playing on the swings OH HOW I LOVE THE SWINGS that freedom IT FEELS LIKE FLYING KIND OFF AND JUST THE SUN AND THE SKY AND TREES AND SWINGS I LOVE SWINGS.

and then like just playing games with them it was so much fun. PLAY DOUGH…WE HAD A PLAY DOUGH PARTY WOOP I MADE PLAY DOUGH CUPCAKES LIKE A BOSS. lol. and puzzles.

and then my aunty’s kids i went to their house and played wth them running around and playing shop ( i had to be the mother ew) and playing football and just chilling with the kids.

I WAS ALSO INVITED TO A 6YR OLD’S BIRTHDAY PARTY.

THERE WAS A PRINCESS JUMPING CASTLE. LIKE A PRINCESS CASTLE…SO AN ACTUAL JUMPING CASTLE. WITH A SLIDE.

i had to wait till every1 went to go on it so it was just like 4 of us and i was chasing them and tickling them AND I WAS WEARING A MAXI SKIRT AND BOUNCING ON A JUMPING CASTLE HAVING THE TIME OF MY LIFE BECAUSE WHO DOESN’T LOVE JUMPING CASTLES??????? and the slide…i fell so many times it was hilarious and just pure joy. =D

i even baked cookies for them.

yep it's those same double choc cookies i always make COZ THEY ARE SO EASY AND YUMMY

yep it’s those same double choc cookies i always make COZ THEY ARE SO EASY AND YUMMY

i had to add edible glitter of course. GLITTER MAKES EVERYTHING BETTER.

oh and then i went to Port Shepstone where my grandma’s family lives AND I LOVE THOSE PEOPLE SO MUCH. technically they’re all my mum’s cousins but i call them my cousins. most of them are older than me (only two are like 15) BUT MY GOD DID WE HAVE FUN.

we had a braai.BBQ (in our honour of course lol) which was YUM. and then it was a cousin night we played the game 30 Seconds and had teams AND IT WAS INSANELY HILARIOUS LIKE WTF I WAS TRYING TO SAY CORNFLAKES BUT I SAID DANDRUFF…FLAKES…WHAT EVEN? gross. lol. we were all in hysterics coz what a game

laughing with family =)

and i think we went to bed at like 3am and we had a massive sleepover and it was so perf and breakfast was yummy and then we went out to eat ice cream and like just chilling. and the next day i was playing on the trampoline with my cousin’s daughter and it was AWESOME.

if you’re reading this

so much

thanks for all the crazy memories and ‘fatichoh moments’ hahahahaha omg what even ahahahaha so funny. (sorry inside joke)

i spent time wiht my grandparents when they came back and my grandma teaching me how to cook was fun. and eating fruit with my grandad. mm i love fruit. papaya and kiwi and mango and just fruit. =D

oh and my cousins got CHICKENS duh coz the rooster needs some ladies to impress. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I FINALLY WENT TO THE BEACH AND FELT THE SAND BETWEEN MY TOES AND SAW THE INDIAN OCEAN AND JUST STARED AT IT AND PLAYED IN THE WATER AND JUST BEACH.

yay beach

BEACH. INDIAN OCEAN. SAND. WAVES. SUNSHINE. SUBAHANALLAH

BEACH. INDIAN OCEAN. SAND. WAVES. SUNSHINE. SUBAHANALLAH

OF COURSE I HAD TO WRITE IN THE SAND DUH

what else? lol

peeta bread is my life

oh and i FINALLY MET MY COUSIN WHO LIVES IN BIRMINGHAM BUT WE MET IN SA AND IT WAS SO GREAT TO SEE HER BEAUTIFUL FACE AND CATCH UP AND GO TO THE BEACH AND JUST AWWW I MISS HER SO MUCH.

and i also met my friend who lives in london who is also half south african and (i met her via another friend) and so we met up on the beach and had fun

Durban- coz the east coast is the best coast

Durban- coz the east coast is the best coast

and SAND ART

talk about sand castle

talk about sand castle

save the rhino

save the rhinos

okay so like

before my parents left (they left before my bro and i)

WE WENT ON SAFARI

NAMBITI PRIVATE GAME RESERVE IN LADYSMITH

because

i wanted to see cheetahs

and

THEY HAVE A CHEETAH EXPERIENCE WHERE YOU CAN ACTUALLY TOUCH CHEETAHS

for reals

CHEETAHS ARE MY FAVE BIG CAT

THEY ARE SO CUTE I CAN’T

so like

we saw caracal (STRONGEST CAT IN THE WORLD…YEP STRONGER THAN A TIGER EVEN THOUGH IT’S SMALL AND CUTE), cerval…I STROKED A CERVAL KITTY and IT PURRED and african grey wild and other cats JUST SO MANY CATS KRUHGFJD

i was just like KITTY

KITTHEHS

EVERYWHERE

CATS

so like

the time came

when

i

met

the

cheetahs

and

ME

AND THEN

I

TOUCHED IT

AND I FRICKEN STARTED CRYING COZ I WAS SO HAPPY COZ CHEETAHS AND OMG IT STARTED PURRING AND I LOST IT COZ CHEETAHS ARE MY FAVE AND JUST I WAS STROKING A CHEETAH AND IT WAS PURRING AND SO BEAUTIFUL AND SOFT KITTY WARM KITTY KJTHGDFKSD

sky and storm with the two adult cheetahs we could stroke

sky and storm with the two adult cheetahs we could stroke

and then

CHEETAH

CUBS

OH MY THJLRKLSD

KITTY BABY CHEETAH CUB BEING ALL CUTE

KITTY
BABY CHEETAH
CUB
BEING ALL CUTE

UM SO YEAH I JUST STOKED A CHEETAH ALL CASUAL AND DYING FROM INSIDE BECAUSE WOW

UM SO YEAH I JUST STOKED A CHEETAH ALL CASUAL AND DYING FROM INSIDE BECAUSE WOW

AND THEN WE WENT IN THE SAFARI CAR FOR A DRIVE AND WE SAW SLEEPING LIONS AND ZEBRAS AND BUCKS AND WILDERBEAST AND WE

SAW

AN

ELEPHANT

IT WAS SO CLOSE TO ME AND I WAS LIKE SALAAMS ELEPHANT HOW ARE YOU AND IT WAS JUST NOMMING AWAY AN DI WAS SO HAPPY COZ ELEPHANT

OH MY GLOB IT'S AN ELEPHANT

OH MY GLOB IT’S AN ELEPHANT

beautiful

I JUST REALLY LOVE ANIMALS LIKE SUBAHANALLAH GOD CREATED SUCH BEAUTIFUL MAJESTIC CREATURES LIKE EVEN BLOBFISH IS JUST SO FUNNY AND JUST ANIMALS MAKE ME SO HAPPY

I WENT ON SAFARI AND STROKED CHEETAHS AND WHAT DID YOU DO?

BUT THEN

we had to go back. to LONDON

after 2 and a half months in Durban, South Africa i had to LEAVE.

it was tough saying goodbye. my little cousins were like DON’T GO CAN I COME WITH YOU IN YOUR SUITCASE. aww babies.

this summer was good. hanging with kids made me not hate them anymore coz before i was like ew kids ew children what even get away from me and now i am excited at the prospect of motherhood and having children Insha’Allah.

it was BITTERSWEET saying goodbye to everyone but then INSHA’ALLAH I SHALL SEE THEM AGAIN AND YAY FOR GOING BACK TO LONDON TO SEE NEO AND MY FRIENDS AND MY OWN BED AND PROPER WIFI AND TAKING THE BUS AND TUBE AND FREEDOM.

it’s good to be back home with my kitty I MISSED HIM SO MUCH GHKSDJS

and it’s nice to be in my own room (even though i have a single bed)

internet access: withdrawal symptoms but actually survived coz i had twitter on my phone but also i was having fun so yeah =D

the annoying things about SA: sexism and racism and annoying peasants and ew dealing with certain family members and GOSH I WAS SO PATIENT AND GOOD I HAVE TO SAY QUITE PROUD OF MYSELF. i survived.

but you know what I HADN’T BEEN IN THAT PLACE FOR 3 YEARS SO TO GO BACK THERE WAS WONDERFUL AND SHOCKING BUT I GOT USED TO IT BUT I CANNOT DEAL WITH HOW RACIST AND SEXIST THE PEOPLE ARE LIKE OMG YOU NEED A SLAP.

and the ignorance too. sigh.

and then i came back and was reunited with neo and saw my friends and we had a Cocktail Party (i had mocktails of course) and that was lovely and catching up with friends and being able to TAKE THE BUS OR TUBE AND GO OUT AND JUST WOW freedom not being dependent on people and the weather is still quite nice.

SO MY INCREDIBLY LONGER THAN 104 DAYS OF SUMMER VACATION IS NOW OVER. =(

but you know what

it has been

simply swell

oh yeah

ALHAMDULILAH IS ALL I CAN SAY

SO THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO HAS MADE SUMMER 2013 SO SPECIAL AND FABULOUS AND AWESOME.

THANK YOU TO MIS AMIGAS Y MI FAMILIA

FOR ALL THE CRAZY MEMORIES

AND ABOVE ALL ALHAMDULILAH- PRAISE THE LORD FOR BLESSING ME WITH SO MUCH.

ALAS ALL GOOD THINGS MUST COME TO AN END.

i mean. going back to my SECOND YEAR OF UNIVERSITY every1 will be like oh yeah i went here and here and did some volunteering and produced a film and wrote a book and whatnot and i’ll be like. well…I WENT TO SOUTH AFRICA AND HUNG WITH THE COOL KIDS AND STROKED CHEETAHS SO HA. also i met EMBLEM3 (but i won’t tell them that coz they’ll be like who and explaining it to them is so long ain’t nobody got time for that)

oh also i like totes dip dyed my hair PURPLE I KNOW RIGHT HOW REBELLIOUSLY TEENAGE OF ME EXCEPT MY MUM SAID YES SO LOL. i feel so badass with half purple hair. no you can’t see it i wear hijab duh.

HAHAHAHA THIS IS MY FAVE THING

HAHAHAHA THIS IS MY FAVE THING

i am missing South Africa of course my grandparents and little cousins and yeah i had some good times but it’s good be be back home. BOTH PLACES ARE HOME. but i’ve spent more time in London (12 years) than in Durban (7 years) . but i DO consider myself as BRITISH INDO AFRICAN. like i am british. i am south african. and i am of indian heritage/ancestry.

I HOPE YOU HAVE HAD A LOVELY SUMMER OR HOLIDAY OR DAY OR WHATEVER

smile because it is sunnah and EVERYONE WANTS TO SEE YOU SMILE.

Happy Reading

DFTBA

KEEP SMILING AND SHINING AND BEING YOUR AWESOME SELF

DON’T LET THE MUGGLES/PEASANTS GET YOU DOWN

xoxo

The Book Guru

be grateful for the little things and the big things

“Life is worth living as long as thereโ€™s a laugh in it.” L.M. Montgomery

 

“I guess Iโ€™m a little weird. I like to talk to trees and animals. Thatโ€™s okay though; I have more fun than most people.” Bob Ross

 

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good; I was actually being redirected to something better. You must convince your heart that whatever Allah has decreed is most appropriate and most beneficial to you.” Imam Al Ghazali

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

2 thoughts on “South Africa Part 2/Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

