Birthday Awesomeness

Salutations!!!

So I did promise I’d write about my birthday and of course I’ve read a few more books so more reviews.

sadly there was no tingly awesome feeling when I turned 18. BUT I did get loads of awesome presents and had a wonderfully fabulous day with my friends and family. and my party is yet to come. =D

so Thursday January 19th was the day of my psychology exam. I survived. I guess it got to the point where I couldn’t revise any longer. so yeah I did my best now we just have to wait and see.

then when I got home I saw the cupcake pops and squealed at their cuteness.

Cupcake Pops

My two friends came around and I opened some presents and got this AMAZING card from my one friend full of all our crazy moments and Josh Hutcherson in every corner. hehe. πŸ˜‰

she also got me a I ❀ PEETA BREAD top. I kid you not. kdghfdjvhjdh. and Flob, the adipose cell from Doctor Who…well i named him flob. and some stickers and perfume. she’s too awesome.

Neo doesn't seem bothered about the two strangers next to him

then when they left I opened my presents from my family: a purple party dress, lava lamp, stickers, jewellery, 18 charm, bag, book pin, mockingjay pin, amazon voucher, waterstones voucher, dress and lots more so Alhamdulilah i’m so grateful to have such an incredibly loving family.

did i mention i got A PERRY THE PLATYPUS T-SHIRT?! WELL I DID. IT IS MASSIVE BUT OH WELL. IT MEANS I CAN WHERE IT FOREVER. YAY.

so yeah my birthday was awesome and my party is in 2 weeks time hopefully. I had a brillaint idea for the invites. to print a pic of the guy my friend’s like and then stick it on card etc. that way they’ll get so excited and then they read the invite and get even MORE excited.

por ejemplo:

My friends all squealed when they got theirs

okay now onto the book reviews:

No animal shall wear clothes

now this was REALLY short and easy to read. but so incredibly disturbing. the pigs terrified me. I mean the commandments were easy enough but then they became dictators and oppressors and the poor farm animals couldn’t tell the difference. no wonder people say ‘you’re just a sheep’ blindly following someone without any thought.

excellent read, disturbing but the last line will forever haunt me:

No question now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.” George Orwell

wow

I still need to read 1984, I know…since I love dystopian novels I should read it ASAP.

BUT OMG I finally read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

SIGNED COPY OMG SIGNED COPY MINE IS IN GREEN SHARPIE

now if you don’t know anything about John Green then just watch this video:

Best Hotel Room Ever-Vlogbrothers

so John Green is this incredible author and wonderful human being…he is a nerdfighter after all…a nerdfighter is someone who is MADE OF AWESOME. yeah and he coined the ter DFTBA which stands for:

Don’t

Forget

To

Be

Awesome

awww yeaaaahhh. so I was of course looking forward to reading his latest novel and I gobbled it up because it was too good not to finish.

it’s a story about a girl called Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters along with Isaac and many other people. all three have cancer. no it’s not like A Walk To Remember or any Jodi Picoult/Nicholas Sparks novel. it’s REAL AND AWESOME AND BEAUTIFUL AND JUST BRILLIANT.

I have this habit if folding corners of pages because there are bits that are just too wow and half the book has a folded corner. it’s just THAT amazing.

of course it’s full of laughter and smiling I mean it’s John Green. all his books are funny.

but then of course there are tears. many many tears. it’s just one of those books you NEED to read and it makes you think a lot of bout life and death and makes me want to go to Amsterdam.

some astounding quotes from the novel:

‘my thoughts are stars i can’t fathom into constellations’ this is BEYOND ACCURATE because i have all these crazy awesome ideas but i might not be able to voice them or write them articulately. :S

“…but it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when he had Cassius note, “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars/But in ourselves.” Easy enough to say when you’re a Roman nobleman (or Shakespeare!), but there is no shortage of fault to be found amid our stars.

so if this is the only John Green book you EVER read…enjoy but I’m sure it’ll make you want to read MORE of his books (Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns and An Abundance of Katherines)

when I read this book on the bus I had to stifle my laughter and luckily I only read the sad parts at home so no one saw my tears.

Legend by Marie Lu

i don't actually know why it's called Legend...

I was SO excited to finally read this book because I’ve heard about this on the book blogosphere.

Penguin pitched it as ‘like The Hunger Games’ but I think the closest I’ve come to THG is Divergent. but still it is an awesome book.

thoroughly fast paced and action packed. June is a kickass heroine and Day is one hot criminal/fugitive dude. no he is NOT a bad guy. just in the eyes of the Republic.

also I had my suspicions about who killed Metias (his death is on the blurb so I’m not spoiling THAT MUCH)

“Few people ever kill for the right reasons…Most do it for the wrong reasons. I just hope you never have to be in either category.” Marie Lu

it’s set in post apocalyptic America in LA. Day is this poor but HOT fugitive fighting for his survival and his family while June is some rich snob brought up in the city who is exceptionally clever. so they meet under unfortunate circumstances and of course things don’t always turn out to plan.

but the plot is good and the characters are well-developed. I look forward to the other two novels in the trilogy. =D

i think that's meant to be a moth NOT a butterfly

so I know I’m belated in reading this book. I have to say this has probably been one of the most gripping books I’ve read in a long time. I mean yeah Legend was gripping and The Fault in Our Stars but this book HAD NO CHAPTERS so it was HARD TO STOP READING. also…the story was incredibly intriguing.

Gemma gets kidnapped by Ty. no Ty isn’t a psychopath. but he is a disturbed individual who is MUCH older than 16-year-old Gemma. i did find Ty sickening but was also drawn to him because he does care for nature and Gemma but he is quite crazy in the sense that he decided to ‘steal her’ and he stalked her. creepy much?!

Gemma is quite annoying at first and there were many times when I was like ‘OMG DON’T DO THAT OR WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?’ sigh. yeah, very frustrating. but I managed to read it in one day because I HAD TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

it’s written as ‘a letter to my captor’ and so you kind of figure she escapes eventually but not int he way you’d expect. oh and i especially loved that it was written by a BRITISH WOMAN. because lately the majority of the books i read are my Americans.

so this book to put it simply: captivating. haha…captive…captivating. wow. yeah, i might read her other book Flyaway. looks alright.

Anyhew so FINALLY i am going to read the first Chloe King book. hopefully Under The Never Sky and Fever will come in the post so I’ll be reading and reviewing that.

Also in YA movie news: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson has been optioned for a movie and looks like Selena Gomez is going to be Lennie the protagonist of the novel.

anyhew. have a good week people of the world.

PLEASE watch this video: it shows how this US soldier feels about the Iraq war

Happy Reading!

All the best

juwi

=)

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

lhfjkgfhvlfhvdil this is beautiful

New Hunger Games still from Empire magazine (March 2012)

http://capitolcouture.pn/ new Hunger Games website

Taylor Swift’s Vogue interview is amazing:

http://www.vogue.com/magazine/article/taylor-swift-the-single-life/#1

“The word β€œshams” (sun) is feminine, and β€œqamar” (moon) is masculine. The sun burns itself out to give light and life to everything around, and the moon is muneer, meaning it reflects the light. Within itself it has no light; it radiates the brilliance of the sun. So when we shine as men, the implication is that we are reflecting the glorious light of our women…” Shaykh Abdullah Adhami

“I’ve never connected with a character more in my life and felt like I had to act less. It was kind of weird. Like, β€˜Suzanne Collins, how did you know me? How do you know what I stand for? This is crazy!” Josh Hutcherson on playing Peeta Mellark

“Even overweight cats instinctively know the cardinal rule: when fat, arrange yourself in slim poses.”John Weitz

β€œIt would be my greatest sadness to see Zionists (Jews) do to Palestinian Arabs much of what Nazis did to Jews.” Albert Einstein

“Everywhere I travel I leave a part of me behind. And all those pieces mix with the other pieces others leave behind and it grows into the atmosphere of a place. And that is sometimes why you just stand still in a new place and. breathe.” Shubnum Khan

Leave a Reply

