Reviewing Madness

Shalome.

hope all is well where you are.

so i have to catch up with all my book reviews!!!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cyborg Cinderella

this is the first book in the Lunar Chronicles (the next books are Scarlet (Little Red Riding Hood), Cress (Rapunzel), and Winter (Snow White and the Seven Dwarves) but Cinder will feature in them of course!!!)

so the story is set in some futuristic society…i don’t know whether it’s classes as dystopian or sci-fi but it’s AWESOME. so Cinder is in New Beijing which is part of the Eastern Commonwealth and there’s this disease called Letumosis which kills ANYONE. anyhew so the whole WORLD is full of this disease thanks to the Lunar people who came to Earth. yeah…this book has MOON PEOPLE. well they’re supposedly evil but i think it’s just the bitchy Queen Levana. but the Lunar people have magic powers like glamour and mind control. pretty cool.

anyhew cyborgs aren’t special no one likes them but Cinder is this cool mechanic but even SHE can’t resist the charms of Prince Kai…i mean…not only is he a prince but he’s pretty fine looking. well in MY imagination anyways. =P

anyhew both her step sisters aren’t evil. Pearl is a biatch but Peony (what a NAME!!!) is sweet. sigh. the step mum Adri is evil though. i mean there were time sin the book when i was thinking of Taylor Swift’s Mean song. it was so emotional. poor Cinder. she needs a hug.

so anyways she wants to find an antidote for the disease because her sister has it and then she gets taken in as a voluntary person but she doesn’t want to and theΒ  doctor finds out lots of interesting information about her…*cough cough* my deduction skills were very accurate. mwahahahaha. =D

i just found this book thoroughly enjoyable and very gripping. it’s a good story and Marissa Meyer has done a successful job in captivating MY ATTENTION.

oh my gosh I cannot wait for Clockwork Princess (November 2012) because Clockwork Prince was WAAAYYYY better than Clockwork Angel.

that's Jem on the cover πŸ˜‰

so i didn’t enjoy the first book in the series but boy did this book make up for it. the PAIN AND TORTURE AND SUFFERING AND ALL THE EMOTIONS I WENT THROUGH. I swear Cassie Clare ALWAYS does this to her readers. it’s always an emotional journey. I mean one minute I’m laughing, then I turn the page and I’m horrified and then I read another chapter and I’m screaming at the book…yeah. that’s usually how I read a book by Cassie Clare.Β  but I do love the world of the Shadowhunters even though Tessa would be ‘classified’ as a Downworlder. oh and MAGNUS BANE is one of my FAVOURITE CHARACTERS. he’s too funny. and just brilliant. I never knew he was Indonesian.

so this book sees the Clave asking Charlotte to search for The Magister…Mortman. urgh. and his stupid Clockwork army of automatons.

it’s also full of surprised…Will’s family…um…yes.

and Will’s stupid curse…well…THAT WAS A FAIL.

Jem…JEM…OH BELOVED JAMES CAIRSTAIRS. he loves the cat and i love him for that. he’s so adorable.he deserves to be happy.

Will…the pain…my heart ACHES for him.

Tessa is just kind of annoying at times. I definitely prefer Clary.

oh the things you do for the ones you love. sigh. JUST SAYING. HA. READ IT.

and the ending. oh that’s nice Cassie Clare…just leave us here to DIE wondering…WTF.

I finally finished The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa

ASH!!!!! I LOVE YOU!!!

this series is magical. well DUH FAERIES. hehehe. I love the idea of IRON FEY because faeries are supposed to be allergic or whatever to iron…like it kills them. sigh.

anyway so this book is actually from Prince Ash’s POV. he goes an adventure with good old Puck along with Grimalkin (i swear the talking cat is my fave character.) and a few surprise guests…yes…UNEXPECTED guests. *cough* so they literally go to THE END OF THE WORLD to get to Meghan Chase because he SWORE to be her knight and to ALWAYS be with her. he loves her. it raised a question for me: would you die for the one you love? like not family but this romantic kind of love. well I don’t know because I’ve never been in love. yes I love Peeta Mellark and Josh Hutcherson but one doesn’t exist and the other doesn’t know of MY existence.

so yeah the book is full of adventure and yeah I just devoured it because it was so juicy and I had to find out what would happen. I swear there was this one scene which was so beautiful…it was a wedding. but was it REAL OR NOT REAL?!? hahaha. read it and find out.

now that this series is over i need another faery series. I miss the world of fey after Tithe and Wicked Lovely. and now this is over too. =(

now this book is a well-known dystopian…it’s meant for children but I think it’s one of those books EVERYONE should read.

"The book to read is not the one which thinks for you, but the one which makes you think."James McCosh

it’s a really short book so can be read easily BUT there’s a LOT to think about. this world has NO COLOUR or proper emotions or even any concept of love. it’s so controlled that LANGUAGE his even controlled.

there’s no choice and everything is controlled. like how you have Districts in THG and Factions in Divergent here you are allocated your position and Jonas was chosen to be the next Receiver of memories.

β€œThe worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.” Lois Lowry

so there’s no memory of war or death or pain and everyone is pretty much ignorant to an extent. the Elders choose everything for you because we aren’t apt to make out own choices. it’s a disturbing future and I’d hate to live in such a society. but I can’t help notice how every dystopian/sci-fi novel I read always mentions the past. and by past they refer to us…our time…and it makes me so frustrated because WE CAN SAVE THE WORLD if people wanted to. if you don’t want a future like Wall-E then do something. recycle. spread the word about global warming. conserve energy. smile more. it’s the little things done on a big scale that can make a difference. but sadly. not enough people care. out of 7 billion people on a few billion live in wealthy countries where food is abundant and you often here yourself saying ‘there’s nothing to eat and I don’t have anything to wear’ when really you are richer than the majority of the world. so be grateful.

sadly, I was REALLY looking forward to this book and it came earlier than expected but to be honest it wasn’t that great. I mean it was good. but it wasn’t what I THOUGHT it’d be like. ‘expectations lead to disappointment’s but I can’t help having high hopes. sigh.

What if you found your facebook profile 15 years into the future?

so that’s what the story is about. Emma and Josh are teenagers when the internet is introduced and they find a website called facebook with their profiles. one slight change in their world can alter their future dramatically. i.e who they end up marrying. Josh is pretty happy with his future life but Emma…not so much.

even though Josh has red hair and is nothing like Josh Hutcherson i just imagined him as Josh Hutcherson. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?! sigh.

so anyway, the CONCEPT was good but I don’t know. overall the book was alright. i wouldn’t be like OMG YOU HAVE TO READ THIS IT’S AMAZING. because it’s not. it’s mediocre. I know it sounds harsh but it’s my honest opinion. sigh. it was quite gripping but it’s a book you can easily forget about. =(

I read this book because I want to read all the books that won the Printz Award for YA Literature

one of the most RANDOM books i've ever read

this book is so random and out of my comfort zone or any zone really. but it was good that i read it. it’s not a love story. it’s about survival in a brutal world. ship breakers are people who scavenge for copper and bits from old ships.

the writing is actually really good and I did manage to finish the story. it wasn’t terrible but I found myself being confused on more than one occasion. Nailer, the protagonist was a developed character and the other members of the crew who looked out for him etc were also like family. but his dad is just a bum. abusive, alcoholic he made me feel sick every time I read about him. the power of words.

I don’t actually know the point/story/moral of the book if there was one but it wasn’t a terrible read. I’m glad I read it. I don’t know why it wont he award…maybe because the concept is so…new or unique. but I liked Nailer’s will to survive because essentially we all want to survive AND live.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2011/aug/19/ship-breaker-paolo-bacigalupi-review

here’s an excellent review from author Patrick Ness on Ship Breaker. more eloquent than I could ever be.

“Killing isn’t free. It takes something out of you every time you do it. You get their life; they get a piece of your soul. It’s always a trade.” Paolo Bacigalupi

oh this book…I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT:

this book makes me want to go to Paris again!!!

the YA blogging community have been RAVING about this book since it came out. ell before them because they get ARCs. but yeah. and so eventually I added it to my Amazon cart and clicked buy. naturally i had high expectations and I was NOT DISAPPOINTED! it’s witty and sarcastic and wonderful and juts captivating. i was enchanted by Anna’s character, so real and…AMERICAN. haha. and Etienne…oh his name…and everything else about him. *swoon*Β  I’m thinking there MUST be boys like that out there in a world of over 7billion people. i just haven’t met any. as yet. sigh.

so the characters are brilliant and the relationships are just amazingly crafted. whether it;s the romantic relationships, family dynamics or friendships but it’s so real and just lovely. it’s not ALL about the love story though that’s kind of a MAJOR THING because there are issues with parents. Anna’s dad is a cross between Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult. i love Nicholas Sparks movies but i could NEVER READ JODI PICOULT. ever.

moving from Atlanta to Paris is kind of a BIG DEAL…major culture shock. though for someone who’s supposed to be into cinema, she didn’t realise Paris would have many cinemas…I mean hellooo FRENCH CINEMA IS FAMOUS. even I know that and I don’t watch french movies. well. apart from Amelie which I LOVE.

so yeah it’s basically Anna’s transition to her new school in Paris, making friends and getting used to her surroundings and trying to speak french and NOT TO FALL IN LOVE WITH ETIENNE BUT IT’S JUST SO DAMN HARD.

after I read it, it reminded me of reading a Meg Cabot book or when I read Megan Meade’s Guide to the McGowan Boys by Kate Brian. funny and romantic and everything I love. it was emotional reading it because I’m just like OMG STOP MISUNDERSTANDING EACH OTHER AND JUST GET TOGETHER ALREADY.

sigh. yes. I tend to get…attached to characters. and yes I shout at them.. even though they can’t hear me.

it’s one of those books you can’t help but devour in one go or in a few days or just gush about its awesomeness. I was left feeling giddy with all these emotions swirling around in me.

I can’t get over his name: Etienne St Clair is beyond sexy. *swooooonnnnn*

also…I don’t get the whole hype of the accent thing. British accents mean Scottish, Welsh AND Irish accents so yeah.Β  I mean…I live in London. only posh people talk like the guys in American tv shows. like Ed Westwick and Alex Pettyfer. otherwise they speak slang and have a local accent. I don’t know if you’ll find a liverpool accent sexy or a Birmingham accent swoonworthy. JUST SAYING.

and please if you watch Geordie Shore only losers would EVER go for those guys. no I don’t watch it I’ve seen adverts. I can’t believe we are the same species.

I think i might read Lola and the Boy Next Door even though i read the first chapter and it wasn’t that great. we’ll see.

and WOW this book blew me away with its awesomeness. and terrifying possibilities.

i love the dress!!!

this book is incredibly captivating. the idea that men live up to 25 and women to 20 because of trying to perfect everything in our genes is disturbing. why? because it’s a scary possibility. all these dystopians and sci-fi novels aren’t so far-fetched because technology is rapidly increasing and soon there WILL BE ROBOTS and HOVER CRAFTS. and Lord only knows what kind of future we’ll have. if we’ll be eating GM crops and genetically designing our children to have perfect hair and eyes and skin.

so anyway, girls get captured to either work in brothels or become brides for a rich man. Obviously they have to procreate in order to increase the population.

i love the descriptions in the book, of the house and the world and its history. it’s beautiful. i really like Jenna and it’s just so sad her story. and Cecily is incredibly frustrating but she’s so young and naive that you can’t help but pity her.

Linden…well he’s sweet and ignorant so you just feel sorry for him because he really loved Rose and Gabriel has still got some character development but i do like him.

I’m lucky Fever, the sequel is out in February so i don’t have to wait too long. =D

Anyhew. I’m going to be 18 soon. in 5 days to be exact. the same day as Logan Lerman’s birthday. πŸ˜‰ I really hope my mockingjay pin arrives in time because i have my psychology exam that day as well and so it will make me EXTRA HAPPY. and my mum is gonna bake CAKE POPS. yay. excited yet nervous.

I may be turning 18 but I will FOREVER love: Charlie and Lola (got the 2012 calender with STICKERS), Phineas and Ferb, Disney, stickers, cupcakes etc etc etc growing up sucks- more work and responsibility. I miss being young and naive and ignorant without a care in the world. because when you finally grow up you realise everything is not as it seems and what a godforsaken planet we live in. every time i read/watch the news i just think ‘i don’t want to live on this planet anymore’

"Listen; There's a hell of a good universe next door: Let's go." e.e.cummings

Well. so long from my 17 year old self.

have a great week!!!

Happy Reading!

only 2 months and 9 days till The Hunger Games.

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

β€œWhen you sell a man a book you don’t sell him just 12 ounces of paper and ink and glue – you sell him a whole new life.” Christopher Morley


β€œNo matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.” Confucius

β€œIt is not enough to simply teach children to read; we have to give them something worth reading. Something that will stretch their imaginations–something that will help them make sense of their own lives and encourage them to reach out toward people whose lives are quite different from their own.” Katherine Patterson

‘Tis the good reader that makes the good book; in every book he finds passages which seem to be confidences or sides hidden from all else and unmistakably meant for his ear; the profit of books is according to the sensibility of the reader; the profound thought or passion sleeps as in a mine, until it is discovered by an equal mind and heart.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

A book is like a garden carried in the pocket.Β Chinese Proverb

Accurate

Leave a Reply

