So long 2011 and a hello to you 2012

Hello there.

I originally started this post in 2011 but then i spent the last day of 2011 with my friend baking cupcakes and being crazy so i apologise for the delayed post. a belated HAPPY NEW YEAR…IT’S THE YEAR OF THE OLYMPICS AND THE HUNGER GAMES AND many other wonderful things. I hope.

Alhamdulilah- Praise The Lord, 2011 has been an incredible year

I’ve made lots of new friends, I got excellent results, I had an incredible summer, I went to a Taylor Swift concert, i read more than 50 books, i watched tons of movies, baked loads of cupcakes, made a blog, made a tumblr and I’ve done lots more things such as watching too much TV and procrastinating. =P

So I have been blessed with an awesome year…yeah I had many stressful days but I ALWAYS think of this verse from the Quran: ‘After hardship comes ease’ and ‘Allah is with those who are patient’ and so I ask God for guidance and just do my best.

I’m still just a girl trying to find a place int his world, a hopeless romantic despite being a feminist, discovering the world and broadening my horizons, trying to understand people and animals and just make the most of the life I have been given.

This year hasn’t been easy with various natural disasters and it’s been a year of Revolutions and change from the Arab Spring (though look at what’s happening in Syria…so many people are still dying…and Libya has a small population so it can become stable but change takes time..and look at Egypt…I think Tunisia is the only fairly calm one now but still…change takes time and revolution comes at a price) to Occupy Wall Street which became a worldwide movement. this year we came together to show PEOPLE POWER!!!

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” Margaret Mead

I recently received this email from the AVAAZ COMMUNITY:

Dear fellow Avaazers,


Something big is happening. From Tahrir Square to Wall St., from staggeringly brave Avaaz citizen journalists in Syria to millions of citizens winning campaign after campaign online, democracy is stirring. Not the media-circus, corrupt, vote-every-4-years democracy of the past. Something much, much deeper. Deep within ourselves, we are realizing our own power to build the world we all dream of.

We don’t have a lot of time to do it. Our planet is threatened by multiple crises – a climate crisis, food crisis, financial crisis, proliferation crisis… These crises could split us apart like never before, or bring us together like never before. It’s the challenge of our time, and the outcome will determine whether our children face a darker world or one thriving in greater human harmony.

This is our challenge to meet. With 10 million hopeful citizens and rising, Avaaz is the largest global online community in history. There is no other massive, high-tech, people-powered, multi-issue, genuinely global advocacy organization that can mobilize coordinated democratic pressure in hundreds of countries within 24 hours. Our potential is unique, and so is our responsibility.

With hope and gratitude for this amazing community,

Ricken Patel
Avaaz

So if you HAVEN’T already joined the Avaaz community you should…it’s so simple and it’s an incredibly way of doing your bit to change the world. I always sign the petitions and promote Avaaz. Hopefully in 2012 I’ll go to more protests and since I’ll be 18 soon I shall be voting…then again..it’s not as if there is one person who I’d love to vote for but my vote counts.

Oh Gosh and AMERICA…well I sure hope Rick Perry doesn’t end up as President. or any of the candidates. i mean Obama…he was great BEFORE he came into power but politicians will ALWAYS lie. he still hasn’t stopped sending over $8billion to Israel and no I am not Anti-Semetic or racist i just don’t like the zionist claiming the Palestinians don’t belong there. when they have every right to be there. no one OWNS LAND. haven’t they seen Pocahontas? i guess not. and I was just reading The Week and they were saying how all the countries are flocking to the North Pole to try and drill the oil. yay…go ahead and ruin the earth even more…it’s cool..polar bears don’t matter…nor do penguins or narwhals or any sort of creature that lives there. it’s fine…we must REMOVE ALL NATURAL RESOURCES UNTIL THE EARTH IS DEAD. yay. that will get us far.

“You’re not to be so blind with patriotism that you can’t face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who does it or says it.” Malcolm X

“Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly and applying the wrong remedies.” Groucho Marx

The war in Iraq is over…but how many people suffered because of it? not just the US and British soldiers but the Iraqi civilians.

“I haven’t lost faith in humanity.

You could say I have lost faith in the government, but I never had any faith in any government to begin with.

But I haven’t lost faith in humanity. Sure, there are some people that their arrogance makes me want to not exist but I also know so many more people that are compassionate and loving and intelligent and ready to make a change in this world. It’s people like that that increase my faith in humanity day by day. I have not and will never lose faith in humanity because I believe that if we set aside our differences, if we all work together then we will be able to conquer the unconquerable.” http://braceletoflight.tumblr.com/

at the end of term assembly, i was so proud that my school did a little drama performance on peace to illustrate the things that go on in the world. yes people have lost loved ones in the war: husbands, fathers, brothers, friends…but the people they were fighting against?! the civilians…what have they lost?! what has the war accomplished?! is the world a safer place?! is the US a safer place?! we’re just more paranoid about everything. ‘the war on terror’ is just wanting someone to blame.

as Lupe Fiasco says: ‘I really think the war on terror is a bunch of bull**** just a poor excuse to use up all your bullets…’

I am a Muslim. I am not a terrorist. I believe in peace and love and I don’t think that everyone who isn’t a Muslim is going to hell. I believe you can be a good person and not have faith…it’s sad…lots of my friends don’t have faith and it makes me terribly sad that they don’t have anything to hold on to…no one to guide them and answer their prayers. NOTHING TO HOLD ON TO. I mean I don’t just turn to God in my time of need. I also thank him every day for all that I’m blessed with.

“A calamity that makes you turn to Allah is better for you then a blessing which makes you forget the remembrance of Allah.” Shaykh Ibn Taymiyyah

I am a firm believer yet of course there is suffering in this world. but God gave us free will and what did humans do? we create but we also destroy.

terrorism is NOT Islamic. it’s not any religion. no religion promotes war and death and fighting.

“As Muslims, we condemn terrorism in all its forms and manifestations. Ours is a religion of peace. We are sick and tired of extremists dictating the public face of Islam.” – Muslims Against Terrorism.

a wonderfully insightful novel

I actually saw the trailer for this book first and it made me all teary so i decided to read it. it’s an incredibly confusing book with a broken narrative switching from Oskar (9 year old boy) to letters from the past and pictures. but once you finish the book it all comes together. I did cry but not as much as I thought I would. it is a very emotional book, not for the fainthearted…some descriptions are vivid and disturbing and you definitely empathize with the characters. since reading the book I’m intrigued to how the film will turn out. I know it has a brilliant cast with Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock.

well since 2011 is over now I should comment on some of my favourite things:

well, I don’t watch horror but i couldn’t resist the love story between Violet and Tate in American Horror Story until I found out that Tate is in fact A FRICKIN PSYCHOPATHIC GHOST. yeah I still kinda love him though.

SO MUCH SWAG

“It’s a filthy world we live in. It’s a filthy goddamn helpless world, and honestly, I feel like I’m helping to take them away from the shit and the piss and the vomit that run in the streets. I’m helping to take them somewhere clean, and kind. And there’s something about all that blood man, I drown in it.” Tate Langdon (AHS)

Evan Peters is hilarious. I think Taissa Farmiga and the rest of the cast are brilliant. the intro is sooo scary though so i just skip that. and well…the end of season 1…I’m like…WTF?! Ryan Murphy is a big fat troll.

i’m still kinda annoyed that ABC cut The Nine Lives of Chloe King. i still haven’t read the books. I know…I should do that soon. I think I’m getting the Percy Jackson series for my birthday so i can officially be a Demigod at Camp Half Blood and fangirl over Percabeth etc on tumblr. haha. tumblr…good times.

in terms of movies I’ve seen a lot of movies this past year…from being obsessed with Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn to new stuff like Bridesmaids and Horrible Bosses. there’s no Movie website where you can keep track of all the movies you’ve seen like Shelfari or goodreads for books. is there?

anyhew but over the holidays i watched Seven Brides for Seven Brothers which is a musical from 1954. it’s so not feminist but I LOVE IT. IT’S HILARIOUS.

it's a classic!!! =D

I also finally watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s but that wasn’t as great as I’d hoped. HOWEVER MY FAIR LADY WAS FANTASTIC. oh the costumes were simply STUNNING!!!

that dress...i stared at the TV in awe of that dress!!!

oh and the BBC’s adaptation of Great Expectations…Douglas Booth as Pip. *sighs* i should read the book. sounds splendid. =D

brilliant performance from Gillian Anderson as Miss Havisham. Though i couldn’t get the Carol Ann Duffy poem out of my head. haha.

Estella and Pip

the way he’s looking at her. *sighs*

Miss Havisham: “And this time, you will learn….What is beauty?”

Estella: “A destroyer.”

Miss Havisham: “What is happiness?”

Estella: “Deception.”

Miss Havisham: “What is love?”

Estella: “Death.”

oh and of course the BBC’s The Borrowers with STEPHEN FRY. that was hilarious. i couldn’t help but fall for Spiller…i mean i don’t even WATCH Misfits but i know Robert Sheehan is pretty damn fine. 😉

Robert Sheehan as Spiller 😉

okay so i know Christmas is over and everything but i couldn’t help it MY FRIEND GOT ME A POSTER PF PEETA FOR SECRET SANTA. LISHDFIDLHLA

*swoon*

every time i open my cupboard which is more than once a day…i can’t stop smiling. hehehehehehehehe.

OMG…i forgot to mention SHERLOCK. flip it was HILARIOUSLY BRILLIANT. i mean it was just soooo gay…and full of bromance and John is all like ‘I’m not gay’ hahahaaha…and sooo jealous of Irene Adler who despite being a feminist she’s one badass woman. yes…very sexualised. but still so badass.

How to deduce if someone likes you- Sherlock style:

get close enough to feel their pulse and check if their pupils dilate

they’re either in love with you or just terrified. 😉

and i LOVED THE PASSWORD THING. oh and Sherlock wanted to be a pirate. awww. how adorable. what a wonderful high functioning sociopath.

i also watched the movie, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. i thought it was incredibly funny and full of action BUT THERE WAS WAY TOO MUCH SLOW MOTION WHICH RUINED SOME MOMENTS. also…did Irene REALLY have to die so soon?! =(

anyhew I shall blog soon hopefully.

here’s such a brief list of things I’m looking forward to in 2012

Movies: The Hunger Games (11 weeks people!!!), The Lorax, The Amazing Spiderman, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Life of Pi, The Dark Knight Rises, The Avengers, The Lucky One, The Vow, A Dangerous Method, Dark Shadows, Frankenweenie, The Secret World of Arriety, Snow White and the Huntsman, Mirror, Mirror, Great Expectations, The Great Gatsby and many more

TV shows: well these are just shows that will return: Vampire Diaries, Hart of Dixie, Sherlock, Doctor Who, Awkward, 90210, The Secret Circle, The Lying Game, Pretty Little Liars, Revenge, 2 Broke Girls, The Secret Life of the American Teenager, NEW EPISODES OF PHINEAS AND FERB…yeah i watch waaayyy too much TV.

Books: A Million Suns (Beth Revis), The Fault in out Stars (John Green), Under the Never Sky (Veronica Rossi), City of Lost Souls and Clockwork Princess (Cassandra Clare), Bitterblue (Kristin Cashore), Insurgent (Veronica Ross), Underworld (Meg Cabot), Black Heart (Holly Black) and many MANY more. =D

May the New Year bring many more wonderful good times and blessings and keep you in the best of health and spirits. bring it on 2012 and let the good times roll. =D

i shall be reviewing: Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Wither by Lauren DeStefano, The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa, The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, The Giver by Lois Lowry, Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

anyhew. that’s it from me.

all the best. have a lovely weekend wherever you are.

keep safe. Stay Beautiful and Happy Reading!

2012- And May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favour

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

THIS

“I love books. The ability to be sitting in a crowd of people and yet still being able to escape into a whole new world. Reading will never be outdated or forgotten, because our imaginations and minds crave them. The feeling of slipping into other worlds for a while is one of the greatest ways to treat yourself.” Unknown


Leave a Reply

