Who’s the Cary Grant of our time?

Salaams people. Peace Be With You.

Lately I’ve been watching A LOT of old movies. It seems that Cary Grant is a rather famous dude. There’s just something about him…or possibly the characters he plays. πŸ˜‰

Oh and yeah…Grace Kelly…wow…she is SO BEAUTIFUL.

To Catch a Thief

Anyhew so Cary Grant has been in loads of movies and so I’m wondering who would be the Cary Grant of our time? Please do not say or think Hugh Grant…because sure he’s been in various romantic comedies but no- just no.

But I simply LOVE these old movies- the mannerism, the CLOTHES are so MODEST (I miss the good old days of modesty…don’t you? when showing a wrist or ankle was SCANDALOUS!!!)…perhaps I was meant to be born in another era…but no…God makes no mistakes. =P

I mean there’s plenty of 80s and 90s fashion but when will we go back to Medieval dresses or Victorian dresses?! maybe not corsets but like…LONG DRESSES- that I could possibly wear in winter too. oh well. I’m happy being a 21st century girl but I do miss the chivalry and the dresses and the MANNERS.

I’m not saying everyone is rude and that every guy has no sense of chivalry or is not a gentlemen and all dresses are bad. I’m just saying I wish people respected others like in the good old days which weren’t so good but still- and men SHOWED RESPECT to women and although there are plenty of feminists out there we still want to be shown that WE DESERVE TO BE COURTED in a PROPERLY MANNER.

I do love maxi dresses and other dresses but the stuff people where these days it’s like- why don’t you just go out naked- I’m sure you would if it wasn’t illegal…then again you do drink when you’re underage and smoke and and have sex bu that’s a whole other issue.

Okay so have fun in life but be safe and respect your boundaries and morals and don’t HARM YOURSELF- LOVE your body and respect it because God has blessed you with something so beautiful- a LIFE. Appreciate it. =)

So yes I love those old romantic funny movies because they are BRILLIANTLY INSANE AND FUNNY and so beautiful. =)

Camelot is getting REALLY BORING. and pointless. I shall continue to watch it…or not. don’t know if I can be bothered.

The Nine Lives of Chloe King: I really like Alek but Brian is so sweet and he deserves to be happy. personally I think the kiss thing is a lie and they just want to make her paranoid. Also Alek so likes her. πŸ˜‰

Oh so i just saw this and thought- MY SENTIMENTS EXACTLY…although i don’t know about the last word.

“I’m proud to read YA novels with cringe worthy covers. It’s like a secret: The person next to me on the train is reading terrible snake oil book, full of un-ironic poetry inspired by garbage cans, and he’s thinking β€œI am so much more intellectual than that frivolous young woman reading a book with a cow carrying a gnome on the cover.” He thinks I’m reading something that must taste like bubble gum and Am Not Improving Myself. What he doesn’t know is that my bubble gum book is secretly brussels sprouts and NOT ONLY is it as nutritious as a Summer Solstice day, full of literary merit and wonderful word play but it is also entertaining as f***.”Β 

Their website is :

http://www.newbookorder.com/

The book she;s referring to is none other than Going bovine by Libba Bray- I KNOW.

It's about this boy who gets mad cow disease for humans and goes on a mission to safe the world and himself. =D

I haven’t finished it as yet but when I do I shall review it and let you know how truly awesome Libba Bray is and this book is. so STOP JUDGING PEOPLE.

So I’ve been listening to a LOT of Colbie Caillat lately -she has a simply lovely voice and her lyrics are so sweet it just makes me want to fall in love.

Her new album All of You is out July 12. =)

I have seen the movie Letters to Juliet and I think that is so awesome- I would LOVE to do that. You write letters and out it on a wall in Verona and these women reply. It’s so…Romantic.

"If I love you, what business is it of yours?" Goethe

One say I shall go there. Maybe I won’t need to write anything because I would already be with the one I love…One can hope. and pray. =P

I was reading the news and I was positively horrified to find that some people in India who can AFFORD it PAY DOCTORS TO MAKE THEIR GIRLS INTO BOYS. There are already waaayyy more boys in India and China than girls and yet for some stupid reason they cannot understand the IMPORTANCE OF WOMEN.

In Hinduism they have FEMALE GODESSES. IN ISLAM THE MOTHER IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE FATHER. I don’t know how important women are in Sikhism or other religions but that is disgusting that families would do that to their own children. Children are BLESSINGS FROM GOD…everyone is here for a purpose. God created you as a female you do not take that away.

There was this one boy whose circumcision went wrong so his parents decided to cut it off and made him a girl. he had a twin and grew up thinking himself odd and weird and then I think his parents told him and eventually he committed suicide. I mean the amount of psychological harm that can result in. it’s sickening.

I also learned about how in China during the One Child Policy, mothers would strangle their own babies if they were girls. Sigh.

Good parents should want what is BEST for their children but GIVE THEM THE FREEDOM TO MAKE MISTAKES and live life and discover themselves. within limits of course but I hate how some parents think they know that this is right for their child when it just leaves their child miserable and lonely. I’m grateful that I have incredibly parents but I know I’m blessed.

I know my parents will always be there for me and look after me and they want what’s best for me but they don’t SPOIL ME…okay maybe they did with the whole Amazon Prime thing…I mean…having your book come ONE DAY AFTER is like…

fncegnucfgiuhaughlhfwrhgljfhglaehgnviugkjdhs-WOOOHOOOO HAPPYJOYHAPPYJOYHAPPYJOYHAPPYJOY YAYNESS!!!!!!!!! =D

I lack patience when it comes to books. That’s why it kills me when a book comes out first in the US…but NOW I can order books from Amazon.com….unless you’re a bookwhore like me you don’t understand how it makes me feel. or maybe you do because you feel that for something else.

Talking of books (and when am I NOT talking or thinking about books?)

I discovered this INCREDIBLE tumblr…Book Confessions.

http://bookfessions.tumblr.com/

My Friends Have Learnt The Hard Way

I just bought 6 books from Oxfam Charity Shop...

I was the kid who got told off for reading too late or reading in class (even if it was English where you SHOULD BE ABLE TO READ).

I often read books in my textbooks…so I would open my textbook and then place my reading book inside and it would appear that I am completely absorbed in the mathematical equations…but of course it was all a facade and I was in another world far away from Maths.

Thankfully PRAISE THE LORD I managed to PASS. So now I am DONE with Maths but now I actually have to pay attention in class if I would like to go to University.

I went to an Anthropology Taster Course at LSE: London School of Economics and Political Science

OH WOW. IT’S AMAZING.

I got a free pen and magnet. YAY FOR FREEBIES. =D

So whenever people ask me “What’s Anthropology” (they usually tend to mispronounce it…quite a funny sounding word) I reply

“well it’s the study of people and cultures”

then I met this awesome girl who said “well I say it’s the study of diversity…” and sadly I can’t remember the rest of her definition but yes…Anthropology is many things but it’s about the diversity of the world but also about what we all share!!!

The first lecture was on The Anthropology of Death by Dr. Catherine Allerton

It was completely fascinating there was this tribe in the Amazon who ate their dead bodies but they say human and animal meat as the same and it was a thing of compassion and sympathy because the idea of being buried underground and left to rot repulsed them. but when people found them they made it illegal and of course they wiped out 60% of their population due to diseases.

Also…in Borneo they do double burials such as leaving the corpse in the house for a period of 7months-4years till all the flesh is gone then burying the bones.

In Islam we don’t use coffins (or as nowadays they’re referred to as ‘caskets’) because you will just disintegrate and be part of the earth again. not as in reincarnation. but we are made from earth.

Death is a common thing in every culture because everyone has to deal with it- some by denial, mourning or memorials but death IS a part of life and it is inevitable. You can’t cheat or fight death because when it’s your time to go it’s your time. whether it’s easy or not- Only God Knows but live the life in the best way possible- be a good person and speak kind words then hopefully you will be rewarded with Paradise.

In Paradise you can have whatever you want. Beyond your imagination…because humans have imperfections and we can only know and understand so much. So the concept of the Afterlife is understandable enough to terrify us but also make us strive for a place in Heaven yet it’s much better and worse than we can comprehend in this world.

We also had a Campus Tour and the library is fantastic!!!

All in all it was an excellent day and I made some new friends. =)

ATTENTION PEOPLE: TAKE CARE OF THE PLANET BECAUSE WE ONLY HAVE ONE LIFE TO LIVE IN THIS WORLD AND THIS IS THE ONLY WORLD WE’RE EVER GONNA LIVE ON SO PLEASE USE WITH CARE.

"The rolling of the sea across the planet creates over half our oxygen, drives weather systems and natural flows of energy and nutrients around the world, transports water masses many times greater than all the rivers on land combined, and keeps the Earth habitable. Without the global ocean there would be no life on Earth." Greenpeace

http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/campaigns/oceans/

If the oceans die then what? Do you KNOW how much LIFE there is under the sea? HAVE YOU NOT SEEN THE LITTLE MERMAID?! Do you want Sebastian to die?!

I would also like you to meet…BLOBFISH: Oh he exists.

HE EXISTS. NO LIE.

No- he’s not exactly easy on the eyes BUT…God did create him (why? i have no idea…maybe to entertain us?!)

He lives deep (800m) in the Pacific Ocean and is currently endangered. No- Not even the Chinese eat him BUT trawler fishermen RUIN HIS HABITAT and so he may become homeless and thus DIE. I don’t think Blobfish can survive anywhere else but I don’t know.Β  All I know is he was recently discovered and yes he is probably one of the strangest creatures you’ll ever see in your life. Not in real life (unless you’re a deep sea diver or a marine biologist).

Global Warming (it exists people- get real), Coral Bleaching, Overfishing, Plastic Pollution, Oil, Sonar…

One of the reasons why there are so many beached dolphins is because of Sonar- it mixes up their signals and they get confuzzled. I’m all for technology and progress and development but not when you have to make sacrifices to nature or morals.

Can you imagine having your grandchild or some future relative not being able to visit the Great Barrier Reef because WE destroyed it?! It’s a RAINFOREST UNDER THE SEA. it’s a LIVING WORLD.

Okay if you still want to eat fish then fine but please recycle your waste and don’t litter. Plastic bags are terrible in landfill sites because turtles mistake the for jellyfish and eat them- it strangles them and they DIE. Turtles are cute. you don’t want them to die.

But sharks aren’t exactly cute but they still need saving- shark fin soup. please don’t go to a restaurant if they sell shark fin soup and please Chinese/Japanese people or ANYONE ELSE who eats it please don’t. These are animals who deserve to live, they are not killing machines. WE ARE. HUMANS. why else would we be ‘top of the food chain?’

If you’re wondering why God is watching all this suffering and letting it happen? Well he gave humans free will didn’t he? He gave us brains and he gave his the choice to do what we want with it and yet we destroy his creation. All of it. Ourselves along with the planet. How grateful are we to OUR CREATOR who has blessed us with a LIFE and SOUL.

‘We got no troubles
Life is the bubbles
Under the sea’

Sadly…they DO have troubles. Why do we have to be so GREEDY and ruin EVERYTHING?! This planet is so beautiful and yet we love to DESTROY THINGS.

Okay so my rant is over. For now. I don’t mean to rant AT you…I am merely informing you of the many issues we face in the world and our responsibility as fellow human beings or beans or even if you’re an alien…

I really hope you all have a good weekend- HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY AMERICANS. GOOD FOR YOU- YOU FOUGHT FOR YOUR INDEPENDENCE. WHY DON’T YOU HELP OTHERS FIGHT FOR THEIRS?!

have fun with the fireworks- stay safe. Don’t drink too much or you’ll forget you ever had fun so what’s the point?! =P

For everyone else around the world- have a lovely week and enjoy life. it sucks but it can also be pretty darn awesome depending on the way you look at it.

Stay Beautiful and Happy Reading!

"Politicians are like diapers; they need to be changed often and for the same reason." Mark Twain

"You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough." Mae West

"Great acts are made up of small deeds." Lao Tzu

"Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired signifies in the final sense, a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed." Dwight D. Eisenhower

Juicy Juicy Juicy Juicy Books. =D

“Anyone can be passionate, but it takes real lovers to be silly.” Rose Franken

“When our relatives are at home, we have to think of all their good points or it would be impossible to endure them.” George Bernard Shaw

“I always think that the best way to know God is to love many things.” Vincent van Gogh

“Eating and reading are two pleasures which combine admirably.” C.S.Lewis (reading while eating chocolate or cookies- one of life’s simple pleasures!)

Β “You don’t have to be a man to fight for freedom. All you have to do is to be an intelligent human being.” Malcolm X (aka El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz)

“I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.” George Washington Carver

“You can’t eat books, sweetheart.” Markus Zusak (if only…i’d be clinically obese)

“Education is a better safeguard of liberty than a standing army.” Edward Everett

“Someone Hot can’t always be the person they appear to be- except for their hotness…that cannot be denied.” Meg Cabot

“If you always do what interests you, at least one person is pleased.” Katharine Hepburn

“The real measure of your wealth is how much you’d be worth if you lost all your money.” Unknown

“In a world like this one, only the random makes sense.” Libba Bray

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

Leave a Reply

