The importance of being a book nut

Greetings Fellow Earthlings!

How Art Thou? I sincerely hope thou fares well. =)

“Be awesome! Be a book nut!” Dr. Seuss

So firstly some TV stuff:

The Secret Life of the American Teenager: I KNEW something was going to go wrong with the baby and yeah…I can’t believe I CRIED. of all the programmed to cry in THAT?! well…I don’t know..it was very emotional but usually I DON’T CRY IN TV SHOWS (apart from the The Big C Season finale!)…tear streamed down my face. yeah. I don’t like how they just move don to two months later…how annoying but I admire the actress who plays Adrianne and her acting skills. Also…screw Ben…he shouldn’t have married her just because she’s having his baby…sigh. this show is too much…I don’t even know why I watch it. but I’m happy for Ricky and Amy- it’s like the Script’s song…Breakeven ‘What am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re okay…I’m falling to pieces.‘ that’s how Adrianne feels when she talks to Amy.

Teen Wolf: new MTV show kind of like Vampire Diaries minus the vampires and ghosts…but it’s about werewolves…and stuff. it’s alright, quite funny but it has some hot guys. very predictable and the werewolves r still kinda dodgy…not as wolflike in twilight which is so NOT a werewolf…because werewolves MEAN THEY ARE PART HUMAN.

I'm Bringing Sexy Werewolves back...haha.

so the guy on right who looks all dark and mysterious -Tyler Hoechlin auditioned to play Edward Cullen. He would have been a better Edward but ALAS…it was never meant to be and sadly that role was given to the tramp that is know as Robert Pattinson though he does look rather clean in Water For Elephants.

OH and surprise surprise, Tyler Posey who plays Scott the guy who turns into a werewolf but HE AUDITIONED TO PLAY JACOB BLACK. oh well…he still gets to play a werewolf. 😉

Pretty Little Liars: I am positively sick of seeing the guy with black gloves at the end of every episode…WHO THE HELL IS A?! it could be a girl. or a stalkerish psycho. I suppose I should have read the books. sigh.

The Nine Lives of Chloe King: AMAZING. SHE IS A CAT. okay not really but she kinda has these cat powers…it’s so awesome. I watched it and immediately ordered the books. 😉

Then I also watched A Lot Like Love with Ashton Kutcher and Amanda Peet. it was mad and funny.

I don't mind being serenaded...

Although I’d much prefer to be serenaded by Blaine from Glee (Darren Criss)

The Warblers

I wouldn’t mind someone singing ‘can’t take my eyes off you’

Good Times.

Onto some tear-jerking stuff…I watched Saving Private Ryan and well…yes i survived but my heart couldn’t take it…it was too painful to cry but I did cry at the end..my heart was swelling with pain and suffering…and I just couldn’t help but think WHY DO WE EVEN HAVE ARMIES IN THE FIRST PLACE?! WHAT ARE WE SO AFRAID OF?! HUMANITY?!

Then I watched Atonement because…well I wanted to read the book first but I just had to see it because of James McAvoy…

Cue stupidly enormous grin...

Yes…he is a beautiful human being. It’s easier to love someone when you know nothing about that…no I don’t LOVE him…I just find him very attractive and he does seem to be a very charming man…I did see him on the Graham Norton show…he made me laugh. =D

That’s one f the best qualities in a person- if they can make you LAUGH or smile. LIKE YOU MEAN IT. =)

Anyways, so Atonement was good…slightly confusing but i got there eventually and yeah it makes me want to read the book because I know it should be better and much more beautiful. so sad though…sigh…but life is rather sad. Nothing is perfect. Perfection is an illusion. 😉

Water For Elephants: i really enjoyed the book and the film was SO GOOD. i mean they stayed true to the book apart from not having any nursing home scenes but it was still pretty darn close to the book. one of the FEW book-movies that made me HAPPY. the other one is A Room With A View starring Helena Bonham Carter! what an excellent movie. So funny. =)

I Also watched X men: First Class

Mutant and Proud

I did not know Lucas Till would be in this movie so it was a pleasant surprise. Yes he is the same guy from the Hannah Montana movie and Taylor Swift’s You Belong With Me video…

Nicholas Hault and Jennifer Lawrence are supposedly dating but in the film his character says something to her that is TRULY AWFUL and he deserves a punch for that.

The scene where professor X was ‘dying’ made me fall in love with his gorgeous blue eyes…

Action scenes were brilliant and it just looked so cool and epic and I would love to have powers like that so it looked like a lot of fun to film. i sure enjoyed watching it. =D

Also…the MTV Movie Awards- i don’t usually watch them but this year I did and I found it rather hilarious. Quite traumatised that Twilight: Eclipse won most awards OVER OTHER BRILLIANT MOVIES but I suppose twilighters have no lives and vote whereas people who watch the other movies have actual lives and have better things to do then waste their life voting for some award show…although the popcorn award is pretty cool.  Anyhew I was utterly surprised that i…*gasp* LIKED Robert Pattinson…he was…FUNNY?! yeah…

Firstly…he KISSES TAYLOR LAUTNER instead of Kristin Stewart even though they are dating…and Taylor wipes his mouth after. haha. then…when he won best fight scene he said to the women ‘ i ripped your head and now you’re pregnant’ I mean WHAT?! weird freak…but the BEST bit was when Reese Witherspoon got the Generation Award and Robert Pattinson was talking about how first she was his mother in Vanity Fair and then she was his lover and he SWORE…AND THE DIDN’T BLEEP IT OUT. too funny. =P

So that show was surprisingly humorous…also LUPE FIASCO performed The Show Goes On and Out Of My Head. =)

Camelot- New Channel 4 drama…kind of like Pillars of the Earth but of course it’s the legend of King Arthur.

Those clothes look uncomfortable

Yes…that is indeed Jamie Campbell Bower who is King Arthur (Future Jace Wayland-Sexy Shadowhunter in The Mortal Instruments) and i must say he is rather…charming in this so maybe he can pull it off. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Music wise I’ve been listening to The Warblers (from Glee) and Two Door Cinema Club. Oh and I’m absolutely LOVING Selena Gomez’s song Who Says!!!

OH and just a little something:

HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 2 TRAILER…IS SURPRISINGLY AWESOME. With shots of Voldy looking rather constipated and some serious magic action. It’s gonna be EPIC. then everyone will be all obsessed with Breaking Dawn Part 1 in November and FINALLY THE HUNGER GAMES will get some credit!!! =D

CUE UTTER SHOCK AND MORTIFICATION AND EXCITEMENT.

CUE UTTER HORROR AND LAUGHING LIKE A MANIAC AT THE SHEER STUPIDITY OF EDWARD BREAKING THE HEADBOARD…soooo PG13 right?! =P

Promotional Movie Poster

I am actually REALLY SUPER EXCITED about this movie because i HOPE WITH HOPE that it will be GOOD and ENJOYABLE because GOOD book-movies DO EXIST (A Room With A View and Little Women)

So i was watching Secrets of Superbrands and discovered many shocking secrets. not really…just that people obsessed with Apple camp out when there’s a new store opening and it’s like some cult thing- they’re all like  clapping and dancing it’s rather freaky. IT’S JUST A NEW STORE. CALM DOWN PEOPLE.

I also heard some Chinese boy sold his kidney for an iPad 2.

No, he didn’t sell it to raise money for charity or donate it to someone but he sold it TO BUY AN IPAD2!!!! what kind of WORLD IS THIS?!

So yeah…I do have an iPhone and a Mac…why?! iPhones are easy to use and I need a map on my phone…but it was a hand me down anyways and so is the mac but they are useful and i am not obsessed with technology. i am actually technologically ignorant. i know nothing about phones and computers and it’s likely to stay that way. but the SECRETS about these brands are that they are massive corporations who spend millions on developing new technologies and Sony sells the PlayStation 3s for cheaper than what it costs to produce them.

In addition, there was a food one and of course McDonald’s is probably one of the most well-known symbol across the world. Sad Times. I mean firstly, Ronald is some freaky clown and I don’t like him. secondly…it causes obesity and the food is disgusting. admittedly I used to eat McDonald’s but now I refuse- the chips aren’t even nice. The meat story is another different issue which I should come back to in another post but for now…McDonald’s is one global company. Did you know that every year 100 million Big Macs are eaten in BRITAIN…PONDER ON THAT STATISTIC.

Then there was an episode on clothes and fashion. It’s all about the image? I am not a massive fan of designer clothes…because frankly…most of their clothes are GROSS but I am way too fussy so yeah. But most designer sunglasses are made in the same factory in Italy. Haha.

So super brands rule the world because they are EVERYWHERE….Cocoa Cola and Gucci and Apple.

We are consumers and we excessively CONSUME

“The corruption of the American soul is consumerism.” Ben Nicholson

But it;s not JUST America of course but everyone who is wealthy enough to afford THINGS which aren’t necessities.

“To live fully, we must learn to use things and love people, and not love things and use people.” John Powell
BOOKS are necessities. they are necessary to my existence and to other people. which brings me onto the recent uproar against the Wall Street Journal Article on YA fiction being too dark.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702303657404576357622592697038.html

So this mother of teenagers thinks that YA fiction is too dark. well excuse me but IT SAVES LIVES. yes twitter came back with heavy criticism and so did many authors and bloggers.

“Books can’t protect us from life, they aren’t a Kevlar vest that we can affix to our chests and la-la-la our way through life. But they are a buoy. They allowed us to feel less alone, relatable and understood.”

Here’s the full post:

http://ht.ly/5anD6

and this blog post also comments on the article

http://serialdistractions.com/2011/06/05/ya-lit/

“We read to know that we are not alone.” C.S. Lewis

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.” Charles W. Eliot

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.” Oscar Wilde

“You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read. It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all the people who were alive, or who had ever been alive.” James Baldwin

What is MY response?! Utter horror. Young Adult fiction IS dark. but that’s because a lot of teenagers WANT darkness…they WANT to read realistic novels or contemporary novels about harsh realities in order to help them feel safe or protect them from such things or just to try and understand how other people might be feeling. Reading is an EXPERIENCE.

So I read to learn. I read because I ENJOY reading but it helps me understand the world around us and what people are going through. Understandably some people may not want to read about people in similar situations (divorced parents or accounts of rape) while others prefer to read about similar cases to know that they are not alone and to help them get through it.

I’ve heard stories about books have saved suicidal people and it’s just miraculous. The power of books is just astounding and to accuse YA of being ‘too dark’ is just lame. Yes it is dark but that’s because the world is dark. It’s a beautifully cruel world and we have to find the beauty and destroy the cruelty.  Sigh. so yes I am not planning on taking drugs for various reasons but i now know through reading Ellen Hopkin’s novel CRANK the impact it has on the person and their family.

I don’t know anyone who wanted to commit suicide but by reading Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why i understand that:

“You don’t know what goes on in anyone’s life but your own. And when you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re not messing with just that part. Unfortunately, you can’t be that precise and selective. When you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life. Everything. . . affects everything.” Jay Asher

Read Away!

Yes…Selena Gomez is going to play Hannah in the movie. But she may be able to prove herself worthy…i do like her but for Hannah i don’t know. People are full of surprises. =P

My point- I think I do have one is that Books SAVE LIVES and yes YA is getting darker and scarier but that’s not the ONLY thing that’s out there…there’s still a lot of other books to read for teens that are not as dark but PEOPLE NEED TO READ SO THEY CAN LEARN AND KNOW THINGS…reading makes me feel less ignorant. =D

okay…rant over. =)

Onto the news. i hate the news…it literally depresses me and how screwed up this world is…well the human race is. we’re amazing yet horrifying. no wonder the aliens are staying far away.

So the Uprisings and Revolutions or whatever you want to call it is still strong across North Africa and the Middle East. and the violence escalates and the death toll rises and people continue to die for a cause. Sad Times. but hey at least they are making some noise and taking a stand against injustice because they are SICK AND TIRED OF STAYING SILENT!!!! Even if it is killing them.

“If you don’t stand for something you will fall for anything.” Malcolm X (El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz)

Apparently the UK is giving the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunisation around £1billion and continue to give aid to India…which by the way is a Newly Industrialised country with an increasing GDP yet what do the government spend their money on? technology and armaments. Wonderful. how wise of them. No one really cares about the ACTUAL CITIZENS…the people who need healthcare and education and need proper shelters and vaccinations against curable diseases. No I am not a communist and I’m not a fan of anarchy but hellooo…governments are corrupt. some more than others. POWER HUNGRY FOOLS.

“Power does not corrupt men; fools, however, if they get into a position of power, corrupt power.” George Bernard Shaw

Why should people help those countries which have money but don’t support the people?! what happened in the US…people donated towards the recent disasters and in New Zealand and Japan. All are wealthy countries but what were the governments doing? why did people need to give aid if the government has enough money?! why do we need to help India if they have enough money?! BECAUSE IT IS OUR DUTY AS HUMANS TO HELP OTHERS ESPECIALLY WHEN THEIR OWN GOVERNMENT DOESN’T IVE A DAMN. it’s our responsibility as people of the world.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” Dr. Seuss

Ignorance is NOT bliss.

Some songs that sum up my feelings:

‘I feel the weight of the world on my shoulder
As I’m gettin’ older, people get colder…’

‘There’s so much sad gonna flood the ocean we’re all in tears for a world that’s broken…’

‘Wish i could take your tears and replace them with laughter’

Okay well i shall leave you to ponder on my musings.

Don’t Forget to LOVE and SMILE and BE HAPPY. Why?

“I NEVER UNDERSTOOD THE POINT OF BEING SAD
WHEN I COULD CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY” Megan McCafferty

So yeah ‘I’m sick sick sick of this s**** and when I’m not sick I’m tired. I’m sick AND tired.’ The world needs more people who give a damn about humanity and the planet itself. Sigh.

We need people to be educated, to have passion, to love reading and being creative so we can HAVE A POSSIBILITY OF A FUTURE…a GOOD future. Everyone will blame the past…oh if only you didn’t do that etc…but what are the people in 50 years time going to think of us?! ANCIENT?! Haha. How many wars have WE been through?!

Have a good weekend and a wonderful week.

‘You’ve Got Every Right To A Beautiful Life.’

Happy Reading!

Reading Saves Lives

"Be The Change You Wish To See In The World" Ghandi

Let's At Least Try!!!

"To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment." Ralph Waldo Emerson

“If you treat an individual as he is, he will remain how he is. But if you treat him as if he were what he ought to be and could be, he will become what he ought to be and could be.” Goethe

“I think the only way to get through this life is laughing hard and constantly, mostly at myself.” Shannon Hale

“People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don’t realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world.” Bill Watterson

“This world is but a canvas for our imagination.” Henry David Thoreau

“In a world as wrong as this one, all we can do is make things as right as we can.” Barbara Kingsolver

PEACE. LOVE. BOOKS. =D

2 thoughts on “The importance of being a book nut

Leave a Reply

